Do They Control Your Entertainment or Do You?

How long can you go without television? Hmmm….think about it for a minute. I know someone that can’t go camping without bringing his television in the camper. That might sound far fetched but it’s true. As a society we have lost some “good old fashion values”. For example, a conversation with each other , playing a game or reading a book. When I worked in radio my job was to keep up with what my listeners were watching like, “American Idol ” or “Dancing with the Stars”.  I didn’t really care about those shows but I pretended to so I could talk with my listeners. I found my guy much more entertaining to talk with instead of watching people sing their way to the top. Don’t get me wrong some great artist like Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood have become successful because they did this.  Realistically, as Americans we have become co-dependent on the tube.  Here are some crazy statistics from the A.C. Nielsen Co. I found on www.csun.edu:

  • Number of hours per day that TV is on in an average U.S. home: 6 hours, 47 minutes
  • Percentage of Americans that regularly watch television while eating dinner:66
  • Number of hours of TV watched annually by Americans: 250 billion

You always hear the old cliche “Life is too short”, so why do we waste our precious time watching brainless entertainment. I do like brainless and educational entertainment once in a while but not almost seven hours a night.

So have you answered the question, ” how long could you go without television?” My husband and I have gone almost seven months. Not on purpose we couldn’t afford it when I lost my job but after the first month we didn’t even miss it. Now, we won’t pay the ridiculous price for cable. When you can stream t.v. shows on hulu, ch131 and others why would anyone pay such outlandish prices to the vulture cable companies. Do they control your entertainment or do you?

Leave a Reply

