1 Thing To Do Before Getting Out of Bed

I feel waking up before the sun is wrong. The sun should be my natural alarm clock. It should shine through my window and say softly, “it’s time to wake up.” Unfortunately, I am usually startled by the sound of a freight train coming through my bedroom, only to realize that it’s my annoying alarm clock. I am not a jump out of bed person. Some people can meditate first thing in the morning, which is the best way to start your day. I am still working towards that goal in my life. We all need goals, right? No matter how you wake up if you hit the snooze or jump right out of bed right, there is one thing that you can do before your feet hit the floor to help create positiveness around you.

It’s simple and easy. Before your feet hit the floor, say five things your grateful for in your life. It can be as simple as the soft bed your laying in or the hot water your about to take a shower in. I started doing this  many years ago, after an argument with my teenage daughter. It took me from being frustrated to thinking clearly. I then started doing it on my runs. I love running but the first mile is sometimes the most grueling and usually the time I can talk myself out of it. I started with five things I was grateful for and continued with more. Now, I do this before my feet hit the floor in the morning. If I forget because I am running late in the morning, I’ll do it in the car driving to get rid of the anxiousness for being late. Remember the positive thoughts we create will come back to us.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Natalie on September 15, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Thanks for the reminder. I just took a deeper breath and realized I haven’t been very grateful lately, instead a little too overwhelmed by life. How easy it is to let the troubles cloud the blessings. I’m grateful for those in my life who remind me to breath, smile and be grateful. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

