Sprouting Life For Your Life

Sprouting your own nutrients is very common and can save you money. I went to my local health food store and noticed the prices on sprouts were very high. I knew that I could do it myself and some money.

You can sprout almost any legumes, seeds and grains. The nutritional value is astounding when the legume or seed comes to life. The protein and vitamins  increase while the calories decrease. I decided to sprout lentils. Lentils are good in salads, soups and other recipes. Sprouted lentil protein is about 3.5 grams for 1/2 cup, vitamin B, C, folate and iron all go up higher.  You are eating the true essence of life.

How to sprout: I will use the lentils for example.

1. Measure out how much you’ll use in 2 weeks since that is about the life for sprouts. Remember it will double in size.

2. Soak your lentils for about 8-12 hours depending on the size. The smaller ones will be about 8 hours.

3. Put a cheese cloth or very thin cloth inside of a colander and transfer lentils to it and rinse (filtered water). * You can also buy a special sprouting jar at health food stores.

4. Rinse twice a day. Put your lentils in non direct sunlight on the second day for a few hours. This will help the growth and fill them with chlorophyll (delivers magnesium and helps the blood in carrying the much needed oxygen to all cells and tissues) Lentils will start to sprout the first day after the soak.

5. You can eat your lentils on the third day. You can continue letting them grow for a couple more days.I went for a total of four days

6. Store them in a freezer bag inside the fridge to stop the growth. This will not hurt the nutritional value but it will make them dormant. You can store them up to two weeks.

You can eat the lentils with the sprout. The lentil will be much more softer than before it started to sprout. The taste reminds me of alfalfa sprouts, which I am not a fan of. It taste like dirt to me. My husband loves alfalfa sprouts and loves the lentils. I know how much nutritional value I am eating and have acquired a taste for them.

This is my sprouts after four days. Enjoy your sprouting!

Leave a Reply

