Vegan Gluten Free Black Bean Burger

I juice almost every morning. I usually have tons of pulp left over and haven’t found another recipe to use the pulp in until now. My vegan gluten free black bean burger. It’s super easy. If you don’t juice, no worries just cut up the veggies you like.

Recipe:

2 cups of black beans

2 cups of cooked brown rice

2 cups of veggies pulp ( or chopped vegetables of your choice )

1 diced onion

1 green pepper

1/4 cup of flax meal (put meal into 5 tbsp of water and let sit for 3 mins)

2-3 tbsp- Bragg Aminos (use more if want)

4 tbsp Dijon mustard (without sugar)

1-2 tsp of Cumin

1-2 tsp of chili powder.

A dash of salt and pepper. I also sprinkled some cayenne pepper for a little heat.

(makes 8-10 patties)

Mix it all together. I use my hands to mix and mash some of the beans at the same time. Shape into patties and place on a cookie sheet that has been greased with olive or grape seed oil. Bake at 375 for about 35-45 mins. Depending on how thick you want them. I flipped them over when top of patty was hard. You can also fry them if you want.

I don’t use any foods from a can. I boil my beans but if you don’t have time use canned beans. This morning I juiced kale, carrots, purple cabbage, celery, and ginger.

The flax meal is great for an egg substitute. It’s pretty inexpensive, I bought Bob’s Red Mill for under $4.  Flax meal and rice is what is holding the patty together.

I served it on a bed of Spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers and topped it with guacamole and a little dijon. My husband likes it on a bun with cheese and all the fixings.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

